My King

I guess I should explain my last accusation to my viewers.  Here is a piece I have been after for a while now, so that is my justification for the purchase.  I actually started the search about three years ago after running into an old professor and naturally my attention went immediately to his watch (never mind the fact he had been married, three kids and a grand child since our last meet), ha!  It was a vintage King Seiko Hi-Beat and there my search began…

So the search brought me here, a  vintage 1972 King Seiko Hi-Beat 5621-7020, Mechanical Automatic.  This piece comes out of Japan which is where I purchase most of my vintage and modern Seiko watches.  This King Seiko is in a 36mm stainless steel case excluding crown and 42mm lug to lug, so small by today’s standards. The Twenty-Five Jewel high-beat movement runs at 28800 BPH. So running very well.

The watch is in show room quality (aren’t they all LOL) condition in and out. It has a smooth winding function and the automatic rotor is rotating with great ease and smooth. There are no rattles or tatter when shaking her to wind.

The case and crystal are both in pristine condition although you can tell there has been a little polishing but not overly done. The watch came with a traditional black leather strap but decided to switch it up with a whiskey colored buffalo skin.  I happy with this acquisition and recommend such a piece to those interested in a vintage work horse with a stunning look.

This is classic Seiko and such a timeless design.

Art, WTCOA

 

Leave a Reply

